Skip to content

The Big Day is Finally Here..Well Kind Of..

February 2, 2011

Today is the day I’ve been waiting quite a long time for, that’s right, today is the day of the wedding cake tasting!

Up until recently, I was unsure of what to do cake wise – I contemplated having my mother make the cake and getting a professional to ice it as she is an excellent baker but would not dare tackle icing. Then I considered asking my aunt to do both jobs but as she lives over four hours away, I soon thought better of that idea.

I then recalled the one and only wedding fayre we attended, we had tasted some delicious cakes there so I rummaged through and found the details of the lady responsible for this deliciousness and promptly contacted her.

Wedding cakes can be rather expensive even for something simple so I braced myself for the high prices but was surprised at the prices of the cakes I had in mind. So I took the bull by the horns so to speak and asked if she was available to cater our cake but was disappointed to hear that she was already fully booked for our day which was over six months away at this stage. 

I then had a brain wave and contacted a chef I know who recommended Gemma, the lady I’m meeting today. Gemma has prepared some samples for me and is bringing along images of previous cakes as she does not have a website.

I’m very hopeful that I may have another item ticked off my list later!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. ams permalink
    February 2, 2011 12:18 pm

    enjoy!!!!!

  2. pippared permalink
    February 2, 2011 2:15 pm

    Hope you find the one!!!

  3. February 2, 2011 7:55 pm

    Oh funs!

  4. February 3, 2011 4:56 pm

    Good luck! Hope it works out for you!

  5. February 15, 2011 5:13 pm

    Hope it all went well for you!

  6. April 20, 2011 4:15 pm

    Enjoy, would love to know how you get on and the price if you don’t mind as cake is next on the list for me ; )

  7. May 6, 2011 9:51 am

    This is something I missed out on as our cake was gifted to us by a family friend, it was so good that I never even got a piece at the wedding!

Leave a Reply

