Skip to content

POLL: Changing Your Name

October 15, 2010

I’m quite lucky in the respect that my H2b thus far anyway, is quite relaxed and has supported any wedding ideas or thought I’ve had, however there is one request he has made and that is for me to change my name once we are married. He sees our marriage as a new beginning and feels strongly that to be truly united we should share the same name. I, on the other hand, never even considered changing my name as firstly, I’ve no brothers so nobody to carry on the name and secondly, I like my name as it is thank you very much! Perhaps, if we have children I will feel differently and the only compromise we can think of is for me to double barrel my name. I’m sure how comfortable I am with doing that either so the disagreement continues!

This brings me to this weeks poll – over to you ladies, do you or will you change your name?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Joanna permalink
    October 15, 2010 11:07 am

    I voted no as my fiancé’s name and mine paired together rhyme and make me sound like an associate of Chicken Licken or a Fisney character.

    We both think this is for the best and in fact he said he wouldn’t want me to change my name. I don’t know what we’ll do about kids though as my name is already an unusual doubled barrelled surname and adding his surname on as well would be awkward.

    • October 15, 2010 10:22 pm

      Thanks for the comment Joanna – a Chicken Licken name sounds very interesting 🙂 Best of luck with your wedding plans!

  2. October 15, 2010 6:05 pm

    I haven’t as of yet changed my name(we are now 4 years married), but I am gradually introducing a double barrelled name in correspndence with new people. I feel it is quite a strong element of my identity as it is the name I had for 25 years and didn’t want to just drop it. I am not against taking my husbands name and will eventually be known by my married name, I am sure, when we have children but for now I am happy to keep mine. He has no problem with it what so ever and everyone knows I am his for keeps. The only people who really refer to me by my married name are his mam and my older aunts, everyone else, his siblings included, refer to me by my maiden name. It is a big change to make, especially now that women carry on in their careers after marriage so I am sure your h2b will understand if you don’t change it straight away. Maybe changing it with some correspondence eg. utility bills could be a compromise to begin with until you are fully comfortable with it.

    • October 15, 2010 10:24 pm

      I feel very much like you & while it won’t bother me if I’m referred to by my married name by some people, I know for work etc I’ll definitely retain my own name but perhaps as you suggested, bills etc would be ok to ease me in! Thanks!

  3. pippared permalink
    October 18, 2010 4:50 pm

    I couldn’t say a definite yes or no, I would have to wait until the time came to see how I feel about it then……but at the moment I am verging more on the keeping my name side, I have quite an unusual name and it is something that I love plus it’s represents my heredity but I would def not put the children through the torture of a double barell name……………..a lot of people keep their name for pratical terms too

  4. Karen Quinn permalink
    November 1, 2010 9:12 am

    I kept my maiden name and intend to forever more. It’s something I feel very strongly about. It was my name for the 27 years of my life before I was married and I can’t even begin to imagine not being called it. Everything about the notion of changing my name to that of someone else rankled with me, personally. My name is one of the cornerstones of my identity as a human being and to change it seemed bizarre.

    I totally get that most people do not have strong feelings about it all and feel it is important for any potential children that everyone one in the family has the same name but I’ll be happy to explain to my offspring why I have a different name.

  5. speccy permalink
    March 22, 2011 3:13 pm

    I didn’t change my name. The kids have their dad’s surname. It’s never been a problem 🙂

Leave a Reply

