Skip to content

Wedding Stress Perhaps?

October 7, 2010

A lot of people talk about the stress of planning a wedding and at this stage with over 9 months to go, thankfully, I don’t feel overly stressed yet.

However, it must be weighing on my mind as last night I had a horrid dream:

It was the morning of my wedding and I was standing in my bedroom in my parents house wearing a gown which didn’t in any way resemble my chosen one and I was panicking!  I looked in the mirror to discover that my hair was literally thrown on top of my head wildly with what can only be described as a bouquet of flowers attached to one side. My bridesmaids who also happen to be my sisters were in their own world so absolutely no help and if that wasn’t bad enough, in walks a third bridesmaid who I’d never seen before in my life! I then looked down at my nails to find them sporting chipped varnish that looked like it had been there for months so I asked a random girl who yet again I’d never seen before to apply some false nails but of course, she completely messed them up. My mother then appeared and I felt a huge sense of relief but like my sisters, she too had no interest and just brushed me off. At this point, I decided on put on my shoes and go downstairs in search of my father – I lifted the lid of the shoe box and found not two but three shoes inside, two of which were completely ripped apart.

I suddenly jolted awake to find my heart beating rather quickly in my chest and a sick feeling in my stomach. I checked the clock, it was 4.52am and I lay awake staring at the ceiling with my mind racing until my alarm went off several hours later.

All I can hope for is that this was not a premonition of some kind! So am I alone or is this quite common in the run up to the big day?

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 2:52 pm

    Sounds like you’re a little more stressed than you think you are.

    I’d say the best solution would be to get moving on your preparations. Getting things done can help you feel less stressed and also leaves you wiggle room for dealing with things you didn’t anticipate that come up.

    It also gives you more time and energy to enjoy the nice things that happen around the wedding itself

    Catherine
    Foresight

Leave a Reply

