Skip to content

POLL: The Cost of Wedding Flowers?

October 6, 2010

This poll was inspired by last week’s episode of Don’t Tell The Bride where the groom spent almost the same amount of money on flowers for the wedding as he did on the brides original dress!

So what are your thoughts on flowers? Are they a waste of money or do you feel they are an essential to complete the day?

And of course, what about the cost?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 12:15 pm

    We’ve budgeted €500 for this and it seemed a lot to me when I was making the budget, but having talked to florists, a lot of them are talking more like €700/800! I’m having 4 bridesmaids (yep, the number keeps going up!) so I guess that’s additional bouquets or whatever, but flowers isn’t a big thing for me when it comes to the wedding, so I feel a little odd paying so much

    • October 6, 2010 12:21 pm

      Flowers aren’t a big thing for me either nor do I know much about them but I’m lucky that my aunt agreed to do them for me as she’s a trained florist. Also, both my mother & H2bs mother have fantastic gardens so I’m hoping we’ll be able to use some of their blooms! Haven’t set a budget as yet hence the poll to help me out!

  2. October 6, 2010 6:49 pm

    I spent €450 on mine. That covered my bouquet, my sisters bouquet; button holes & corsages for the groom, bestman & immediate family only; a centre piece for the altar, a bouquet for my MIL & a posie to mark a place for my mam. We didn’t get a lot for our money imo but once the word wedding is mentioned the prices are just ridiculous. I was really happy with everything I got but if I had known someone who could do them for me I would have bought the flowers and saved myself I would say €350.

    • October 6, 2010 9:58 pm

      Totally agree that once you mention “wedding” everything increase dramatically in price. You’ve made me feel more hopeful about keeping my own budget low as I reckon I’ll have a similar amount of flowers – thanks!

  3. October 7, 2010 7:37 pm

    I really love flowers and so does my mum and in some ways I can’t imagine my wedding without them! I’m only in the early planning stages, so I don’t know what the average cost for wedding flowers would be, but I’ve budgeted about £500. I hope it’s enough to have a lovely bouquet and pretty decorative flowers!

  4. Twinkletoes permalink
    October 12, 2010 1:55 pm

    The flowers were really important to me for my wedding – we were having a relaxed country-style wedding with a small country church and then a marquee in my parents’ garden. I imagined the church full of informal garden-style flowers, nothing too “arranged”. I knew that if I got a florist to do it, the amount I wanted would have cost a fortune. I’m lucky enough to have some talented relatives, so the day before the wedding there was a team of 10 of us doing the flowers in the church, and then going back to Mum’s house to make the bouquets and table centres. I remember vividly the night before the wedding, sitting at Mum’s kitchen table with her and one of my bridesmaids at about midnight, drinking wine and making the buttonholes for the lads! I know that wouldn’t suit everyone, but I was a pretty unstressed bride.

    I ordered all of my flowers from http://www.flowers4florists.com/ who were brilliant. The cost of delivering them all to the church was included, and I got exactly what I wanted. We spent nearly €900 on them, but that included a hell of a lot! My best friend who got married 2yrs later ended up doing the same thing, as it worked out so well.

    For that much money I got 4 bouquets, 10 buttonholes, 12 table centres, buckets of flowers outside the marquee, and a church filled with blooms.

    I know that probably sounds mad to someone who doesn’t prioritise the flowers 😉 My dress cost the same as them!

    • October 12, 2010 2:50 pm

      Thanks so much for the comment Twinkletoes & for the supplier link which I will definitely be checking out! Your flowers sound amazing & you got a lot for your money. It’s lovely to have such memories – we all agreed to help my aunt out so I can imagine a similar scenario in our house the night before as well!

  5. Karen Quinn permalink
    October 13, 2010 12:19 pm

    I spent about £350 sterling on my flowers which I felt wasn’t very much and the general concensus was that it was quite cheap..

    A family friend who is a florist did them and I had two large arrangements for the Registry Office, two bouquets and 5 or 6 buttonholes. Doesnt sound like much but they were beautiful and aside from the arrangements all fabulous roses. I have some lovely photos of them in my album.

    • October 15, 2010 10:28 pm

      I would really like some photos of the flowers in my album also especially after all of the hard work that goes into arranging them!

Leave a Reply

