Skip to content

POLL: Would You Sell Your Wedding Dress?

September 20, 2010

A girl I know recently sold her wedding dress for quite a nice sum of money and it got me thinking if a lot of brides sell their dresses after the big day?

This particular lady had no specific reason for selling it – she was not overly pressed for cash nor did she need the extra closet space but simply felt that she was now married for 3 years and it was time to let go of her dress. I, on the other hand, have lipsticks older than her dress which I’m not even sure I’m ready to part with yet!

So ladies, over to you:

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen Quinn permalink
    September 20, 2010 1:33 pm

    Interesting question. I’m married almost two years now and to date haven’t considered selling my dress. It lives at my parents home so it’s not taking up any closet space and while I’m constantly strapped for cash it never crossed my mind to sell it.

    My dress was a deep red colour though so unlikely to be the easiest sell and there is also the fact that I actually wore my mothers wedding dress to my school formal after it had been slightly modified so I’m ever so slightly inclined towards believing someone close to me might wear my dress again on an important occasion. I am probably deluded on that front though!

    • September 20, 2010 2:38 pm

      Thanks for the comment Karen!
      I love you that you were able to give your mother’s dress a second outing – hears hoping someone else will be able do the same for yours!

  2. Aifs permalink
    September 20, 2010 8:57 pm

    Sis put an ad once and got a dodgy sounding offer from someone who wanted her to post it to Nigeria or something! 🙂 she has no real ties with the dress because the week before d wedding the lady doing the alterations ripped the silk on the skirt. Disaster trying to fix it so they had to order another one last minute. The new one was a bit big on the day. She still looked amazing!

    • September 21, 2010 8:57 am

      Your poor sister, she must have been so upset – can totally understand why she doesn’t really have any ties to it. The fabrics are so delicate that they really need a lot of TLC!

  3. September 21, 2010 9:11 am

    My dress is still hanging on the door of the wardrobe in the spare room. I keep meaning to box it up for safe storage and just never get around to it. I kinda like to see the long white dress carrier hanging there when I pop in and out. We were all raging my mam hadn’t kept her wedding dress so I think I will definitely keep it.

    • September 21, 2010 9:20 am

      Nice to know you’ve hung onto it – my mother has on occasion allowed me to try on her dress, it was a real treat when I was little!

Leave a Reply

