Skip to content

POLL: Wedding Lists – A Good Idea or Not?

August 19, 2010

I got to thinking about wedding lists and whether or not to have one. So many stores offer the service now that I don’t know if I’d only be able to choose one!

As a guest, I love to hear a couple has a list as takes the hassle out of trying to decide on a gift – instead the list can decide for me!

However, on the other hand, a list can be thought of as quite impersonal.

So what do you think – wedding lists, a good idea or not?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen Quinn permalink
    August 20, 2010 1:29 pm

    I think a list is a really good idea, as it means people know exactly what to get you and you don’t end up with a pile of stuff you would never have picked yourself. Only problem sometimes is when people are running at the last minute they are left with few options.

    For my wedding I politely informed people on the additional information card that went with the invite that we had lived together for 3 years and didn’t actually need any household items but rather cash to help pay for the wedding or help us buy a house (Still working on that one!) It may have seemed rude but it was the simple truth.

    • August 20, 2010 2:24 pm

      Great comment Karen – thanks! We’ll be in a similar situation by the time we get married so am trying to think ahead!

  2. Pippared permalink
    August 20, 2010 1:59 pm

    EMZ…..there has been a lot of disscusion on various radio stations recently about this topic, its a thorny issue

  3. August 23, 2010 9:58 am

    I think it’s a good idea for couples who are starting out and need specific things. I don’t know if it’s for me though, I’ve been to wedding fairs where I’ve been accosted by wedding list people with their brochures of fabulous bone china dining sets which never go out of production, but realistically, I’m not Martha Stewart and a plate is a plate.

    I’m with Karen on this one, although it is a delicate matter asking for money instead of gifts but any guest who is recently married (or the parents of the recently married) will understand that this is the way to go. That’s got to be a fair portion of the guests (hopefully!)

Leave a Reply

