Skip to content

Tears, Tears & More Tears!

August 5, 2010

The run up to Christmas week approached quickly and at the beginning of the week, I received a phone call from the very apologetic gemologist to say that there had been a death in the family and unfortunately, my ring would not be ready in time – needless to say, I was so, so gutted and did shed a few tears but it couldn’t be helped. We also knew the family personally so our sympathies were with them. H2b suggested a “placebo” ring so off we went to the local silversmiths and picked out a suitable replacement which was wrapped and put under the tree.

We woke up on Christmas morning, exchanged gifts and pleasantries but one small box remained wrapped under the tree. Once everything else had been opened, H2b picked up the box, got down on one knee and proposed yet again! There were tears followed by hugs and I happily put on the ring. We were due to have dinner with my family and decided we would pop into H2b’s family on the way and tell them the news. However, they had gone to the local beach to support the annual Christmas Day swim so we headed straight to my house.

On arrival, my mother was busy at the hob and both of my sisters were pottering around however, my Dad was missing so we chatted and exchanged gifts until he appeared. I looked at H2b and he gave me the nod so I told them we’d gotten engaged and immediately, there were hugs and more tears all round – both my mother and middle sister were in convulsions and H2b was a little worried that they were not tears of joy!! My father even welled up but my youngest sister remained her usual rock solid self!

We enjoyed the rest of the afternoon and then headed off to tell H2b’s family who were also very happy for us and cracked open the champagne straight away!

We then told our close friends and arranged a little celebration for the following night. We both slept soundly that night knowing we’d no more secrets!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Pippared permalink
    August 6, 2010 12:39 pm

    Emz……..again I love…..my eyes are nearly welling picturing you anouncing the news on christmas day………..I think it very hard to write non-fiction but you really capitalize it….well done girl….xx

  2. Pippared permalink
    August 6, 2010 2:04 pm

    Emz is this the last entry to date…..I will be tuning in for the next doage of flowers and foundation soon…….miss the girls from the blat………well done again on the blog

    • August 6, 2010 2:07 pm

      Hi Pippa, yes this is the last one so far but will hopefully have another up later – you can subscribe if you want & you’ll get an email everytime there is a new post? Thanks for all your comments x

  3. Pippared permalink
    August 6, 2010 2:12 pm

    I am onboard now……..you’re very welcome……..can only imagine the entries when next July comes nearer………

Leave a Reply

