Skip to content

Break Time!

July 28, 2010

Now that we’d submitted our planning application, there was nothing to do but wait so we decided to take a last-minute well deserved holiday to Orlando, Florida.

I got a fax on a Monday from GoHop offering a superb deal including flights, accommodation, car hire & 7 days passes for some of the theme parks – we were off the following Friday for some fun in the sun!

While we were there, we visited the usual tourist hotspots including Daytona Beach and NASCAR headquarters as well as many, many theme parks but we did also find some time for shopping of course!

H2b is never usually a fan of shopping and has to be dragged but surprisingly, he enjoyed it in Orlando as many of the outlet centres and malls aren’t fully enclosed and all of the shops were very spacious. The fact that he didn’t complain spurred me on to shop, shop, shop!

On the last afternoon before we were due to fly home, we decided to split up and do our own thing for a while, when we met up again we went for something to eat and discussed our purchases. H2b said he had spotted a watch he thought I’d like in a nearby jewellers and wanted to show me so off we went. When we got to the shop, I immediately started to look at the watches while he wandered off to a different counter. I tried some on, completely oblivious to what H2b was doing – typical me, totally engrossed in shopping! So when he called me over to an exquisite-looking glass cabinet, I was still in my own world – inside were many, many diamond rings – I was confused, after all I was looking for a watch!

So I looked at H2b, he looked me and then he started to smile and said “Well what do you think? Do you like any of them?” Still confused, I said that I liked one watch and would show him but he was still smiling and said he was talking about the rings! At this stage, I had begun to realise what he was getting at (yes, at last I know!!) and just stood there shocked. Just to be sure we were on the same page so to speak, I asked him what he meant and he simply said “I think we should get you a ring” – again, I was silent – was he talking about an engagement ring?? It was only at this stage, I noticed that a sales assistant had been standing close by all the time and was smiling to herself.

I know what you’re thinking, I must have known a wedding was on the cards with building a house together and the truth is, yes I did but I just wasn’t expecting it right that minute!

To be continued….

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 12:13 pm

    Oh Emz, cuteness factor of ye just keeps going up 🙂

  2. JoanieBubbles permalink
    July 28, 2010 12:21 pm

    Emz that’s so lovely, what a romantic! Love the blog btw 🙂

    • July 28, 2010 12:24 pm

      Thanks a mill Joanie, delighted to hear you’re enjoying it – don’t worry I won’t leave it too long before the next post!

  3. July 28, 2010 1:24 pm

    Aawww, that’s such a sweet story!

  4. Aifs permalink
    July 28, 2010 9:39 pm

    Awh that’s so cute! Can’t wait to read the rest!! 🙂 Cliff hanger!

  5. Pippared permalink
    August 6, 2010 12:19 pm

    Emz……..I love love love this………really I do…..the story is great…..romantic, sweet and funny with you off in your world looking at watches……I totally visualised the whole scene while I was reading it……….

Leave a Reply

