Skip to content

What’s in a name?

July 22, 2010
tags:

Welcome to my blog, Flowers and Foundations!

It probably sounds like a strange name for a blog but all will become clear….hopefully….

I have wanted to start a blog for quite a while but firstly, I wasn’t sure where to start and secondly, I couldn’t decide what to blog about!

Then it dawned on me…..

I am currently planning a wedding while simultaneously embarking on a self build project for our first “owned” home so what better to blog about I thought! So when a few fellow bloggers suggested the same, I decided to just go for it!

I spent the past few days thinking about a name for this blog. I also asked some friends for ideas and a few online buddies suggested “foundations” as we are laying the foundation stones for the rest of our lives with our marriage and new home – I loved that idea! I also wanted to link the name to the wedding so that’s when I coined “Flowers and Foundations”.

Both events are such big chapters in our lives that I feel it is important to record the details for future giggles when we look back at this time in our lives! In doing this, I hope that I can also help others who are in the same situation or aren’t mad enough to do both at the same time and just embarking on one adventure at a time!

Enjoy and looking forward to some feedback!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2010 5:01 pm

    First off, congrats on starting up your blog! I’m looking forward to reading it. Second, I love the name, it’s so clever! Congrats again!

  2. July 25, 2010 5:03 pm

    Thanks so much Breige – all feedback is most welcome!

  3. Scarie permalink
    July 25, 2010 6:14 pm

    Well done!!!!

  4. July 25, 2010 6:17 pm

    Thanks Scarie!

  5. July 26, 2010 2:30 pm

    Congratulations on the blog Emz! Love it… and its such a great idea. I wish there had been a self-build blog when we built out house. Best of luck and looking forward to reading as you continue on your journey. x

  6. Pippared permalink
    August 6, 2010 10:32 am

    Emz, I am starting at the very start of your blog……I love the name and I think it is a brillant idea……you should def document the story in a scrapbook too because in years to come it will be something beautiful your husband and you can look at……I am going to keep reading anyhow………..well done xx

    • August 6, 2010 10:36 am

      Thank you so much for your kind words Pippa, really like that idea about doing a scrapbook.
      Hope the book is going well – looking forward to reading it!

  7. Pippared permalink
    August 6, 2010 11:48 am

    Thanks Emz……I can’t chat on the b anymore which means I will have loads of time to check out your blog…..I think a scrapbook type thing would be like tresure in years to come……..keep up the blogging 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

